Hockey Hall of Fame Finland association

Our museum is led by the Hockey Hall of Fame Finland association, which was established June 14th 1979.

Founding members: Aarne Honkavaara, Kalervo Kummola, Kimmo Leinonen, Harry Lindblad, Juhani Linkosuo and Usko Teromaa.

Chairpersons: Harry Lindblad 1979­­­­1983, Aarne Honkavaara 19831996, Unto Wiitala 19962001, Pertti Kontto 20022011, Kimmo Leinonen 20112018, Mika Sulin 2018 .

Board members 2020: Mika Sulin (chair), Matti Pukka (treasurer), Petteri Hietanen, Heikki Hiltunen, Jari Kurri, Riia Martinoja, Teppo Numminen, and Jukka-Pekka Vuori.

History of our Museum

The first exhibition opened for public in 1979 in Hakametsä ice hockey hall. National hockey legend, former player and coach, Aarne Honkavaara operated as the museum director for almost two decades. Together with his wife Maire they were responsible for taking care of the practical matters and displayed the exhibition for thousands of visitors annually.

In 2001 the Hockey Hall of Fame Finland moved to Museum Center Vapriikki. This brought the collection and exhibition under new and stricter criteria. Museum operations became more streamlined upon the hiring of experienced museum curators.

Contact information:

Hockey Hall of Fame Finland
Vapriikki, Alaverstaanraitti 5
33100 Tampere Finland

Museum Center Vapriikki Info Desk +358 3 5656 6966

FB, Twitter, Instagram


Salla Järnefelt, Museum Director
salla.jarnefelt (at)
+358 50 329 0988

Jesse Saarinen, assistant researcher, collections management
ext-jesse.saarinen (at)
+358 400 406 301

Mika Vehmas, assistant researcher, communication and marketing
ext-mika.vehmas (at)
+358 50 501 1196

Hockey Hall of Fame Finland association

Mika Sulin, chairman

mika.sulin (at)